top of page

UK Work Visas

Tier 1

Entrepreneur Visa (Tier 1)

This category is closed for new applications. Individuals who are already have the Entrepreneur visa (Tier 1) can extend or bring their family members or apply for Indefinite leave to remain in the UK

Investor Visa (Tier 1)

The Tier 1 (Investor) Migrant category is designed to enable people to invest in British Stocks, Government Bonds, etc. This route is for high net worth individuals making a substantial investment in the UK

Tier 1 General Extension

The Home Office stopped accepting Tier 1 (General) applications made overseas from 23rdDecember 2010. Tier 1(General) closed from 6th April 2011 for new in-country applications. In-country extension of Tier 1(General) has also been stopped. Migrants already in the UK can only apply for Settlement once they qualify. Dependants can still apply to join applicants who have obtained prior entry clearance for Tier 1(General).

Tier 1 Graduate Entrepreneur

This route is for MBA and other UK Graduates who have been identified by Higher Education Institutions as having developed genuine and credible business ideas in Entrepreneurial Skills to extend their stay in the UK after graduation to established one or more businesses in the UK. It is also for Overseas Graduates who have been identified by the UK Trade and Investment as elite global graduate entrepreneurs to establish one or more business in the UK.

Tier 1 Exceptional talent migrant

The UK intends to become the natural home for highly talented individuals in film, television, animation, post-production or visual effects industry or anyone who is already internationally recognised at the highest level as world leaders in their particular field, or who have already demonstrated exceptional promise and are likely to become world leaders in their particular area of expertise. This route is for exceptionally talented individuals in the field of science, humanities, engineering and the arts, who wish to work in the UK.

Tier 2

The tier 2 Visa is designed for nationals from Non-European Economic Area who have a confirmed job offer from a UK based company. Implemented on 27 November 2008, this visa category is an employer-led process with the sponsoring company applying on behalf of the candidate. Applicants for tier 2 visas must obtain a work permit before entering the country. The visa is especially designed for medium to highly skilled workers in possession of a sponsorship certificate.

Tier 2 (Intra Company Transfer) Migrant

Multinational employers can use this category to transfer their existing employees from outside the EEA to their UK branch for training purposes or to fill a specific vacancy that cannot be filled by a British or EEA worker.

Tier 2 (General) Migrant

Employers in the UK can recruit workers from outside the EEA to fill vacancies for which they cannot find a suitably qualified British or EEA worker.

Tier 2 (Minister of Religion) Migrant

A person whose main reason for coming to the UK is to do preaching and pastoral work, should apply under Tier 2 (Minister of Religion) Migrant

Tier 2 (Sportsperson) Migrant

A person who is applying as Tier 2 (Sportsperson) Migrant must be endorsed by the governing body for his sport and must also demonstrate that he/she is internationally establish at the highest level of whose employment will make a significant contribution to the development of the Sport at the highest level in the UK and that the post could not be filled by a suitable settled worker.

Tier 4

The Tier 4 visa of the new point based system was introduced in March 2009 and specifically designed for foreign students who wish to come to the UK for study purposes. This visa is a direct replacement of the previous UK Student visa and places more emphasis and responsibility on the educational body catering to international students. It is the responsibility of the education providers to ensure that the international students coming to the UK to study at their institution obey all the rules and regulations of the tier 4 visa.

Tier 4 (General) Student

The Tier 4 (General) category is for adult students who want to come to or remain in the UK for their post 16 education. Rules where amended for students studying in the UK under Tier 4 of the point based. From 6th April 2013 if a Student is studying in the UK , the condition of this Conformation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) has changed and he is now not allowed to study at a lower level than his CAS states.

Tier 4 (Child) Student

The Tier 4 (Child) Student category is for children coming to the UK to be educated between the ages of 4 and 17 years old. Children between 4 and 15 years old must be educated at independent fee paying schools. The Tier 4 Child Student cannot study at publicly funded schools with certain exceptions.

Tier 5

The Tier 5 of the points based system was introduced to allow skilled workers aged 18-30 to come to the UK on a temporary basis. Under this visa tier, two groups of people can immigrate to the UK. The first category is for candidates coming to the UK to participate in the Youth Mobility Scheme, and the second are those who wish to engage in a specific job on a temporary basis. Tier 5 is divided into the following 5 categories:

Tier 5 (Temporary Worker Migrant)

Workers can be brought to the UK on a temporary basis in the following sub-categories;

  • Creative and sporting worker

  • Charity worker

  • Religious worker

  • Government authorised exchange

  • International agreements

It is a requirement for all categories of workers to pass the assessment test to become eligible for this visa

Tier 5 (Youth Mobility Scheme) Temporary Migrant

Young people from certain low risk countries can come to live and work in the UK temporarily.

tier 2
tier 4
tier 5
bottom of page